Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Issues related to previewing and publishing your web site.
User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Pablo » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:22 pm

Did you recently update your firewall or virusscanner?
It sounds like your firewall/virusscanner blocks the connection.
Maybe it helps if you uncheck 'passive mode'?
Did you add the application to the exception list of your firewall/virusscanner?

If it previously worked then it's very unlikely that this is a software related issue otherwise it would not have worked then either.

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Pablo » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:23 pm

Failed to open URL "file:///Users/davidandjanet/Library/Containers/com.pablosoftwaresolutions.quickandeasywebbuilder2/data/Users/davidandjanet/Documents/Seedfield Website/Local Publish/index.html" in default browser. (error 0: Undefined error: 0)
Maybe the security settings of your hard disk have become corrupted?
Did you try to run disk utility?

Janet
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:11 pm

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Janet » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:30 pm

Hi,
I have just done this now and everything appears to be OK.

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Pablo » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:48 pm

Good to hear that!
Which one of my suggestions do you try?

Janet
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:11 pm

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Janet » Mon Jul 25, 2016 8:55 pm

Sorry, I hadn't seen one of your suggestions.
I have just run the disk utility and everything is fine with the disk.
Previously I have tried to publish the website with the firewall turned off but this didn't solve the problem.

Sadly the problem still exists.

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:37 am

If you create a new page without content are you able to publish that page?

Please understand that if it has suddenly stopped working then something must have been changed. Version 2 still works the same as when you first installed it.

Janet
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:11 pm

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Janet » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:54 pm

Hi,
I have just created a blank page in my website and attempted to publish it. It failed. This is the publish log:

*** START OF PUBLISH ***

Scanning publish folder...
Found 1 file(s).
Initializing FTP connection...
Connecting to www.seedfield.co.uk...
Using PASV mode.
Succesfully connected.
Current directory is '/'
Setting remote folder to www.seedfield.co.uk...
Uploading 'page1.html'...
Unable to upload file: 227 Entering Passive Mode (217,160,223,152,214,58).
Removing temporary files...
Publish failed!
*** END OF PUBLISH ***

Can you make any sense of that?

mexman
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:33 am
Location: Puebla/Mexico

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by mexman » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:30 pm

Hi Janet,
Failed to open URL "file:///Users/davidandjanet........ in default browser. (error 0: Undefined error: 0)
Hi all,

I think that is either a computer problem or bad publishing settings in Janets system.
The instruction "Open published Website in Browser" which appears after publishing, should open a REMOTE (published) site http://.... not file:// ; but in this case it is opening a local file.
All this does not make any sense to me!
Last edited by mexman on Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:33 pm

Unable to upload file: 227 Entering Passive Mode (217,160,223,152,214,58).
This error usually indicates a firewall related issue.
Something is blocking the connection, which prevents the software from uploading the files.

Do you have another computer to try it on so we can be sure this is not a computer related issue?

filmphotog
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:53 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by filmphotog » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:38 pm

I'm curious about the "Setting remote folder to", I have this set to a folder in '/' not an url?

mexman
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:33 am
Location: Puebla/Mexico

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by mexman » Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:18 am

filmphotog wrote:I'm curious about the "Setting remote folder to", I have this set to a folder in '/' not an url?

Yes, I think too that is an error. Some hosts require a subfolder in their structure (e.g. SONIC), but 1&1 does definitvely not!
As Janet is sure she did not change anything......should be okay!?

Of course you CAN generate a subfolder for the page, but I guess that
http://www.seedfield.co.uk/www.seedfield.co.uk
would not be a valid URL, at least not meant so.

Janet: Could you screenshot your Publishing settings?


regards
Michael

Janet
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:11 pm

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by Janet » Wed Jul 27, 2016 6:58 pm

I've taken a screenshot of my original publish settings which worked before the end of June. Since then I've tried all sorts of settings to try and figure out how to publish the files but nothing has worked. 1and 1 sent me these settings which don't work because they are SFTP:

Hostname: u39700191.1and1-data.host
Username: u39700191
Password: password for the FTP username used.
Type of Connection: SFTP
Port: 22

1and1 rep was useless on the phone. Phoned at wrong time, gave me wrong information and had no useful suggestions on how to fix it.

The good news is I can upload my locally published websites using Cyberduck, using the new SFTP settings.

mexman
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:33 am
Location: Puebla/Mexico

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by mexman » Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:26 pm

Thanks
Please try to delete the entry in "remote folder".
Otherwise you will not publish to the URL
http://www.seedfield.co.uk/index.html (as actually is!), but to
http://www.seedfield.co.uk/www.seedfiel ... index.html which might be wrong.


Regards
Michael

filmphotog
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:53 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by filmphotog » Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:32 pm

Hi, also doesn't the url field need to be ftp://
connecting to a ftp host?

mexman
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:33 am
Location: Puebla/Mexico

Re: Publish failed Quick'n Easy Web Builder 2

Post by mexman » Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:42 pm

filmphotog wrote:Hi, also doesn't the url field need to be ftp://
connecting to a ftp host?
As she told us that "explore" is working, that should be okay. Anyway I will check later..... at home I have a 1&1-sample-configuration which I dont have here at work....

Regards
Michael

@filmphotog: Do you have a name? ;-) You are the big QnEWB crack here! GREAT!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests