iframes

Issues related to forms.
Post Reply
martinp2901
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:15 am

iframes

Post by martinp2901 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:19 am

Hi,
New to all this and learning fast. I need help however on iframes. I can get the box up and input the site I want in the box but all I ever get is a link to the website which opens in safari, not the box on the web page.
What am I doing wrong??

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2636
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: iframes

Post by Pablo » Wed Feb 03, 2016 6:52 am

Unfortunately not all websites (like Facebook, YouTube, Google etc) allow you to display their content inside an inline frame (for security reasons).
This is not directly related to Quick 'n Easy Web Builder.

martinp2901
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:15 am

Re: iframes

Post by martinp2901 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:25 am

Thanks for the response.
I'm looking at a website that I know currently allows this to be done. Its a map and data site which I have seen used on other peoples sites around my hobby.
How do I achieve the required frame in frame?

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2636
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: iframes

Post by Pablo » Wed Feb 03, 2016 10:45 am

Are you sure this is allowed?
What is the URL?

Note than inline frames is a standard HTML feature so I have not implemented this functionality. The browser renders the inline frame.

martinp2901
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:15 am

Re: iframes

Post by martinp2901 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:44 pm

Hi,

The site is APRS.fi and is a map site tracking other like minded individuals. I have a colleague who has implemented the iframes on dreamweaver using the site.
If quick and easy web builder is unable to achieve this I will need to look elsewhere as I am not HTML code minded and WYSIWYG was what I was after.
Let me know if there is any fix.

Many thanks

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2636
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: iframes

Post by Pablo » Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:55 pm

Please note that this has nothing to do with Quick 'n Easy Web Builder!

This website contains a script which prevents you from using it in inline frames.:

Code: Select all

<script type='text/JavaScript'>
//<![CDATA[
if (parent.frames.length && location.href.toLowerCase().indexOf("http://translate.google") != 0)
	top.location.href = document.location;
//]]>
</script>
This code checks whether the website is displayed inside an frame and if that is true it will break out of the frame.

martinp2901
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:15 am

Re: iframes

Post by martinp2901 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 6:20 pm

Many thanks for explaining this to me. I will have to find out how my friend is achieving this. If it is useable outside of dreamweaver I will post the solution.

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest