Site Search

All Quick 'n Easy Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Post Reply
ekdesigns
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Site Search

Post by ekdesigns » Sat Apr 07, 2018 5:00 pm

Hi there,

I'm really new to this software but I have had experience with Webplus from ***** (seems quite similar) and recently from Adobe Muse which have now decided to call it quits. Very annoying that. So, at the moment just trying to find a replacement that allows me the designer to create a website that I can envisage without having to deal with code - and a 'click and drop anything anywhere' type of approach.

So, the issue I'm having is with the Site Search - so far, when I put a search box on one page, and then a Inline Frame on another page and follow all the other instructions, it seems that when I test it out, I get a search result but it appears in the left corner and not on the page I want it to be on. Also, is there a way of styling the search results page?

Second question is to do with the search button itself. I'm trying to recreate a search box found on this website that I've done through Webplus: malcolmdown.co.uk - on there, the search button is a magnifying glass and when you hover, it turns dark grey. So, I think I managed to insert in a image into that search button but I was wondering if there's a hover feature to that as well? Also, when I do insert it, because it's a png image, with a transparent background, the surrounding area seems to turn grey for some reason? Of course, that itself isn't a big issue as I can make it a jpeg but in case I have a picture background behind a search button like this, it would be good to see it as a normal interlaced png.

Hope that made sense!

Thanks in advance :)
Esther

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2793
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:54 pm

I get a search result but it appears in the left corner and not on the page I want it to be on.
There is most likely a mistake in the settings.
For example, maybe you did not set the correct target frame?
Also, is there a way of styling the search results page?
The results can be styled with available properties of the site search object.
I'm trying to recreate a search box found on this website that I've done through Webplus: malcolmdown.co.uk - on there,
Note that you can turn any object with events into a search button. See the event properties of the standard button, how to implement this.
In this case it may be the easiest to use a Font Awesome Icon. This has built-in support for hover.

ekdesigns
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Re: Site Search

Post by ekdesigns » Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:15 pm

Hi Pablo,

Many thanks for replying!

The first bit, still is there I'm afraid. I've tried changing the Target (although that's to do with whether or not it appears in the same tab or new tab right?), and made sure the result frame had 'InlineFrame1' inside but I'm still getting the same problem. Must be missing something?

Thanks - I managed to style the search results much better.

Yes! The Font Awesome Icon works great - the only thing is, how can I add in my own icon to that long list?

Esther

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2793
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:21 am

To be able to help you, I need to see what you have done.
I may need your project file.

Font Awesome is a static library, you cannot add your own icons to the list.

ekdesigns
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Re: Site Search

Post by ekdesigns » Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:33 pm

Hi Pablo,

Yep how do I send the file? I can do a dropbox link here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vs0fra29fsau1 ... e.qwb?dl=0

With the font awesome icon, is there any way of using my own image or created icon with the same function? Or is it better to go about it a different way? It must have a hover with a magnifying glass icon, but of course also work with the search box.

One other thing I noticed is with the inside of the search box - there's a place to put your own hint text, but when I try to change it from Search this website to Search Title, Author or ISBN it doesn't update the search box... any idea why? Another slight thing is the colour of that hint text, seems like it's black in the property inspector but comes out in a light grey - the text colour part there doesn't seem to be changing.

Many thanks for your help ;)
Esther

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2793
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:05 am

Thanks for sharing the file.
The implementation of the search is not correct.

These are the instructions from the help:
Step 1 - Add a new page to the project (for example 'search_results'). - Add an inline frame to the new page. This is where the results will be displayed. - Add a 'Site Search' object. - Select 'Show results in an Inline Frame' Note that now you will also be able to search on the result page.

Important: make sure that the Inline frame displays an initial page. Some browsers will not display the page if there is no content in the inline frame. For example: you can create a new internal page that displays some text like 'This area will display the search results'. Then set that page in the 'Link to' property of the Inline frame, so that page will initially be displayed.

Step 2 - Go back to the page you were working on. - Add a 'Site Search' object. - Select 'Show results in another page' - Click the 'Settings' and select the 'search_results' page.
- there is no 'site search ' on on your results page
- the site search object on the main page is not set to 'Show results in another page'

With the font awesome icon, is there any way of using my own image or created icon with the same function? Or is it better to go about it a different way? It must have a hover with a magnifying glass icon, but of course also work with the search box.
You can implement your own rollover images like this:
http://quickandeasywebbuilder.com/events.html
One other thing I noticed is with the inside of the search box - there's a place to put your own hint text, but when I try to change it from Search this website to Search Title, Author or ISBN it doesn't update the search box... any idea why?
I will fix this in the next update
Another slight thing is the colour of that hint text, seems like it's black in the property inspector but comes out in a light grey - the text colour part there doesn't seem to be changing.
It is not possible to change the color of the place holder. This functionality is currently not available in HTML.

ekdesigns
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Re: Site Search

Post by ekdesigns » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:08 pm

Hi Pablo,

Yes much better now! Thank you so much.

Just a couple more small things - with the magnifying button which is a simple image with the events of hover on it, is it possible to also add a transition of ease? I tried a few of the options in the drop down list but it didn't seem like much was changing. If not, it's not a big problem, just checking.

Also, a bit unrelated but I wondered if character spacing is possible? Either in a property inspector option or even as code if need be? Probably won't need much and as a work around I can insert an image with it on, but if it is possible that would be great.

Many thanks,
Esther

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2793
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:02 pm

I don't think you can use transitions when you change the image like this. You can only implement transitions if you use two different images (where you fade the second one in or out)

I'm sorry, there is currently no support for character spacing. Maybe in a future version.

ekdesigns
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Re: Site Search

Post by ekdesigns » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:02 pm

Yes I thought as much. Out of interest, if I were to use that hover function for an image with transitions, how does that work? It pops up with a 'value' box, but I'm not sure what to put there?

Esther

User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 2793
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Site Search

Post by Pablo » Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:25 am

Are you referring to the roll over image?
Just select the images.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests